Updates – and Fish Domination

Today my guild is taking the first step towards progression in a while with continuing the raid lockout from the previous week. We had a few new raid members this past week so we did not down Blood Queen as normal, so she is up as well as our primary target Putrcide. I’d love to see Putricide die tonight. That would be a huge bump for Exile as a whole. Plus Blood Queen has my shield!

Also, this past week I won the Stanglethorn Fishing Contest. This has been one of my goals in game since I was  a newbie hunter doing quest to level to 60 for the first time.  On my old server (a pvp one) I tried it once, got no guild support, and got destroyed.  I don’t remember how many of the 40 required fish I caught, but somewhere around half seems right.

For me it is very rare to even try this as I am usually pretty busy on Sunday at 5pm (I’m east coast on a west coast server).  I didn’t try again till shortly before Wrath. I caught 36 fish when one of my guildmates at the time won it.  I then didn’t have the oppertunity to try it for several months. The next time I gave it an attempt I caught 38 fish when the winner was announced. 

So two attempts in almost as many years. But I had some free time this past weekend and logged in and remembered the tournament. As it was 15 minutes till the start time I flew to Booty Bay and set my hearth. I then hopped on my mount and rode north as fast as possible.

I went to the northwest area of the map by where there is a troll ruin. I cleared my bag space and turned on auto-loot. I set a keybind for fishing. I ensured I had crusader aura on for faster mounted speed (also in my base talents I have ret talent for increased movement speed).

The contest started. I found a pool right away that spawned 5 fish with no junk. I then mounted and moved to the next pool – 4 more fish!. A pool spawned slighly south, but there was someone there, I rode past – next pool – 2 more people – I kept going to the south. By Grom’gol there was a little island. I found 1 unoccupied pool by the shore, and 2 off the island. I fished the shore, then both on the island with no one around! I mounted to head back north, but then another spawned by the little island! I had 26 fish and it was 8 minutes into the contest!

This is when people from the south started to flood north. Most pools had at least 2 fishermen at them. I kept finding unoccupied pools though and went at them. Only twice did anyone try to fish my pools (same guy – some tauren…damn cows).

The last 14 fish took a lot longer than the first 26. I found a few and worked my way up to 38 fish. I knew time was running out. It was past 20 minutes since the start of the contest. I had to hurry it up.

So I started fishing a pool where someone already was. It was some troll (literally!) so I didn’t feel all that bad. I got lucky and was able to get the last two fish out of that pool. On the last cast I had my hearthstone ready and popped it as soon as number 40 was in the bag.

I ran out as fast as possible to the quest giver. As I talked to the quest goblin I noticed a gnome mage running up to him as well. I clicked as fast as I could thru the menu and selected my prize – The trinket that turns you into a fish! http://www.elsanglin.com/stranglethorn_rewards.html list the rewards. I honestly don’t fish enough to want the fishing rod, but if I find the time again to do this, it will be my next prize!

The, mage who was on my tail, whispered me afterward “Where you waiting here for someone before turning it or did I lose by 2 seconds???” I felt bad telling her the truth…it was indeed 2 seconds.  She ask me how many junk catches  I recieved. I told her 2 (I only did have 2 junk catches) – she had 14 and was right behind me…man I was lucky.

Never before when I earned an achievment did I get as many unsolicited whispers – “Where were you fishing?” – “How much competition did you have?” as well as the random grats.

Definatly something that was a unique experience. And unlike the northrend fishing contest, one that can be strategized.

Leave a Reply

